Queensland Youth Symphony Romance

26 Aug 2023
Concert Hall, QPAC
2 hours 10 minutes
(including interval, subject to change without notice)
$45 *
* A transaction fee of $7.20 applies.

Available Discounts

Concession, Student

Join the Queensland Youth Symphony (QYS) and conductor Simon Hewett for a program that will enthral the senses and touch the soul! The famous slow movement to Rachmaninov’s Symphony No. 2 is the epitome of romance, filled with yearning string melodies, lush harmonies and an exquisite, achingly beautiful clarinet solo. QYS’s brilliant Principal Clarinettist, Lewis Blanchard, will also feature as soloist in Aaron Copland’s wistful and jazzy Clarinet Concerto, written for jazz legend Benny Goodman. The second Suite from Ravel’s ballet Daphnis and Chloe tells of the love between a shepherd and shepherdess on the Greek island of Lesbos, and is famous for its evocative and virtuosic orchestration.

Presented by Queensland Youth Orchestra


RavelDaphnis and Chloe Suite No. 2
CoplandClarinet concerto
Rachmaninov – Symphony No.2


  • Conductor Simon Hewett
  • Principal Clarinettist Lewis Blanchard
  • Orchestra Queensland Youth Symphony

You may also like