Queensland Symphony Orchestra Worlds Collide

18 Feb 2024, 11:30am
Concert Hall, QPAC
1 hour 20 minutes
(no interval, subject to change without notice)
$76 - $109 *
* A transaction fee of $7.20 applies.

Available Discounts

Concession, Child, Student, Family, Groups, Schools

A Musical Travelogue

From melodies as old as time, to more contemporary masterworks: distant worlds collide. Under the baton of Douglas Boyd, tradition and innovation are intertwined in our first Music on Sundays concert for 2024. Harry Sdraulig’s Torrent is a fanfare tense with the chaos of the modern age, while the longing second movement of Mozart’s Sinfonia Concertante is a glimpse into a bygone era of classical elegance performed by soloists from within our Orchestra. New frontiers abound in Dvořák's Symphony No. 9, which brims with the adventure of the composer’s years in America. Across the globe, Grace WilliamsPenillion is a lush reminiscence on Welsh traditions, as honeyed brass sing soaring folk melodies. Borodin’s soul stirring Polovtsian Dances, rich with an ancient folk tradition, drives to an exhilarating finish. 


Mozart Sinfonia concertante 
Dvořák Symphony No.9 (From the New World) 
Grace Williams Penillion, mvt 1  
Borodin Polovtsian Dances from Prince Igor

Presented by Queensland Symphony Orchestra


  • Conductor Douglas Boyd
  • Host Ashleigh Denning 
  • Oboe Soloist Huw Jones
  • Clarinet Soloist Irit Silver
  • Bassoon Soloist Nicole Tait
  • Horn Soloist Timothy Allen-Ankins
  • Orchestra Queensland Symphony Orchestra

You may also like