Queensland Symphony Orchestra Rachmaninov’s Piano

18 - 19 Oct 2024
Concert Hall, QPAC
1 hour 40 minutes
(including interval, subject to change without notice)
$76 - $135 *
* A transaction fee of $7.20 applies.

Available Discounts

Concession, Student, Child, Family, Groups, Schools

Brilliant and Breathtaking

Rachmaninov doesn’t mess around with his Piano Concerto No.3 in D minor – his melodies draw you in from the very beginning. Your soloist is Nobuyuki Tsujii, a former child prodigy who gave his major Tokyo debut at 12, and has since taken the world by storm, as he presents history’s most challenging music learnt through Braille and ear. Marvel at the depth of expression he pours into every note before our knock-out program continues with Prokofiev’s Symphony No.7. Brazilian conductor Eduardo Strausser will give you safe passage through a daring opening movement; if you can face the foreboding strings, you will be rewarded with sweeping melodies and a gratifying finale. Tchaikovsky’s Waltz from Sleeping Beauty will whirl you home with the perfect coming-of-age dance for anyone who has ever enjoyed a 16th birthday – or perhaps has one on the horizon in 2024?


Rachmaninov Piano Concerto No.3 in D minor
Prokofiev Symphony No.7 in C sharp minor
Tchaikovsky Waltz from Sleeping Beauty (Saturday only)

Presented by Queensland Symphony Orchestra

Cast & Creatives

  • Conductor Jen Winley
  • Presenter Paul Rissmann
  • Soloist, vocalist Ashleigh Denning
  • Orchestra Queensland Symphony Orchestra

You may also like