Australian Chamber Orchestra Postcards from Italy

25 Sep 2023
Concert Hall, QPAC
2 hours
(including interval, subject to change without notice)
$49 - $115 *
* A transaction fee of $7.20 applies.

Available Discounts

Concession, Student, Youth, Groups

Musical tributes from across the centuries featuring Bach and Boccherini through to Tchaikovsky and Giovanni Sollima.

Join us as we travel to Italy, a destination rich with art, music and life that has cultivated and inspired generations of composers and musicians.

Bach’s popular Italian Concerto reveals his lasting fascination with the country’s musical innovations, while the great Tuscan cello virtuoso and composer Luigi Boccherini embodies its elegance and grace.

Tchaikovsky wrote his only string sextet, the Souvenir de Florence, during a summer visit to the country. Infused with sunlight and warmth, it basks in the pleasure of being alive.

Here in the present day, another Italian cellist and composer, Giovanni Sollima, invokes a dazzling, infectious energy with his Viaggio in Italia, a musical embodiment of the great luminaries in Italian art, music and literature.

An Australia Chamber Orchestra (ACO) ensemble brings this music to life with the players in an intricate and ever-changing conversation with one another. Energy is palpably transferred from musician to musician and from the ensemble to you.

Presented by Australian Chamber Orchestra


Thomas Adés Arcadiana: I. Venezia Notturna
Johann Sebastian Bach (arr. string sextet) Italian Concerto, BWV971
Giovanni Sollima Viaggio in Italia: Selections Luigi Boccherini String Quintet in C minor, Op.45, No.1
Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky Souvenir de Florence, Op.70


Helena Rathbone Violin
Ike See Violin
Stefanie Farrands Viola
Elizabeth Woolnough Viola
Timo-Veikko Valve Cello
Julian Thompson Cello

The ACO is small in number, but big in impact.
The Daily Telegraph

You may also like